The annual Hermanus wheels and runners race was a huge success this year with 325 entries in comparison to the 170 entries of the first race in 2007.

The race was organized by Karin Coetzee and her team of the Access for Citizens Committee in Hermanus in conjunction with the Whalers Athletic club. Athletes from Gauteng, Kwa- Zulu Natal, Oudtshoorn, George and Mossel Bay all joined the local athletes from the Overstrand, Cape Town and the Winelands to participate in the event.

It is the only race in SA where runners and athletes in wheelchairs participate together in different categories. The oldest entrant was 87 yrs in his motorized shoprider and he came fifth in his category. It is also the only event in SA with a relay race between runners and athletes in wheelchairs.

The 1,3 km race for Quadriplegic athletes was won by Ricardo Hendricks.

The 5 km race for motorized chairs was won by Wikus Muller from CT.

The 10 km for runners was won by Tsepo Shelembe (men) from KZN in 31 min.43 sec. and Mariaan Malan (women) from Malmesbury in 42 min.21 sec.

The 10 km for athletes in wheelchairs was won by Sibusiso Mathenjwa (men) from KZN in 50 min.07 sec and Nerene Luyt (women) in 52 min.33 sec.

Main event:
The 21,1 km for Handcycles was won by Stuart Mc Creadie (men) from CT in 43 min. 41 sec and Ina Rowles (women) from Pretoria in 56 min.54 sec.

The 21,1 km for Racing chairs was won by Gerrit Hendricks from George in 59 min.50 sec.

Article Photos