Rolling Sport - Golf

The 2008 Nedbank SA Disabled Golf Open went down to the wire with three players in contention for the coveted crown as the last four ball teed off at the 18th hole.
Overnight leader Iglin Grobbelaar, defending champion Mick Horsley and Nico Wentzel were within one shot of each other as
the final hole was played in fading light. Gusting winds affected play as the leaders moved from an overnight score of +10 to an eventual gross winning score of +15.
Playing off a 12 handicap, eventual winner Nico Wentzel held his nerve to par the final hole as both five handicappers Horsley and Grobbelaar dropped a shot at the last to finish at +16 for the 36 holes.
It took him six attempts to finally win this covetted title, making Nico the first South African to win the SA Disabled Golf Open in four years.

Article Photos